Why they keep letting Jim Lee redesign costumes in the DC Universe is beyond me. #ddtb
Embedded Link
Jim Lee's Darkseid Revealed –
Comics
News at IGN
We've known he was coming since Justice League #1, but DC has unveiled our first peek at Jim Lee's new design of Darkseid from Justice League #4.

I suppose it could have been worse….they could have let Leifeld do the re-design…
Why do they let Jim Lee do these redesigns? Because he’s a “superstar”! And co-publisher.
I never saw it as a skirt, but a long tunic, medieval-style, cinched in by the belt. Not unlike, say, Doctor Doom (another Kirby creation whose various makeovers have rarely stood up to the original).
I am convinced that good costume design is something completely different from ordinary art. Jim Lee is a solid artist, but his costume design talents are dubious at best. George Perez is one of my favorites, but the costumes he comes up with tend to be rococo monstrosities (Jericho and the original Nightwing outfit being classic examples).
I've never liked any of the redesigns of the character. The basic Kirby design still works best. He's impressive in and of himself, without all the chrome work and fins.
http://www.hillcity-comics.com/toys/newgods_darkseid.jpg
I've never been a huge Kirby fan but, I'll agree, the original design works best. My only irk with it being that it always looked like he was wearing a skirt….which, I guess, could just add to his bad-assery depending on how you look at it.